I came across an Image Grammar strategy asking me to find a family photo and write about the memory. Searching around for a good picture, I found this one of my mom and I standing outside in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico. It brought back a lot of good memories from our most recent family vacation last summer. With my picture chosen, I set out to describe it using specific nouns, specific verbs, participles, appositives, prepositional phrases, and adjectives out of order

Image Grammar by Harry R. Noden
Chapter 4: From Imitation to Creation
Strategy 2: Paint from a Family Photo

    On a sunny day in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico, my parents and I enjoyed an afternoon at the boardwalk. Looking for gifts to bring home, we explored the cobbled streets of the old town market.
    My dad sunburnt and peeling wanted to find a bar, obtain a few cervezas, the Spanish words for beer, and relax for the afternoon. He had no interest in shopping.
    My mom would not let that happen. Showing dominance, she told us that we had to finish our gift lists before we could party. Mom had decreed it and her word was law.
    After several hours of shopping in the crowded market, we had exhausted our list and could now start imbibing the alcohol we had been waiting for. We quickly found a nice bar near the ocean, ordered a few beers, and relaxed.
    The sun massive and golden was just starting to set over the ocean. The day had been beautiful. It was time well spent with my family having fun. It had been a day of memories.

JSN
5/7/2013 04:31:10 pm

Nice work, Dillon! I like this last entry. I hope you'll continue to find use for the blog.

Reply



Leave a Reply.