Looking through Image Grammar, I found another great strategy for practicing brush strokes. It asked me to look at the clothing people wear and describe what those people are like. I incorporated zooming and layering techniques in each of my descriptions. I also made sure to utilize specific nouns, participles, appositives, prepositional phrases, and adjectives out of order in my sentences.

Image Grammar by Harry R. Noden
Chapter 2: The Artist's Eye
Strategy 2: Paint the Personality Behind the Clothes

    Sherry Moonflower was the lead singer of the band, Lotus Blossom, and the owner of a flower shop. She dressed in vibrant neon and pastel colors. Working on song lyrics, Sherry could usually be found in her garden. She considered herself part of the counter-culture movement  and often sang about peace, love, and LSD. She was a flower child in every sense of the word


 

    Lester Maslow is a real estate agent from New Jersey. He can usually be found dressed in business casual. Selling houses, Lester makes a solid living. He created the nickname, deal hunter, intending to establish a commercial identity. Lester broken and dependent is a slave to the man.






Leave a Reply.