In my Foundations of New Media class, we have started to explore some of the smaller new media players. In the book I have been reading, Paul Levinson's New New Media, these smaller new media players are referred to as the small potatoes. This group is comprised of New Medias that somewhat fell off the map and new medias that never quite made it on the map.
    The most prominent of these small potatoes is MySpace, which at one time wasn't such a small potato. According to Levinson's book, MySpace had over 300 million user profiles during its prime. That is certainly a lot of people doing their MySpace thing, but I was not one of them. I was either too cool for MySpace or MySpace was to cool for me.
    I may not have gotten into MySpace like 300 million other people did, but I cannot deny the effect it had on new media today. MySpace was the place that made having online friends popular. It is also one of the earliest examples of a new media offering blogging, photos, videos, music, and IMing all in one place. MySpace was pretty much the forerunner to Facebook and for the most part most new media today.
   
   



Leave a Reply.